top of page

Sun, Jul 16


Sala Sudasiri Sobha

Chonchanok Sophonpanich (Flute) & Aaron Stewart (Piano)

An afternoon of flute and piano with exciting music from various eras and countries from a J.S. Bach sonata to a cutting edge new flute piece by Wil Offermans.

Registration is closed
See other events
Chonchanok Sophonpanich (Flute) & Aaron Stewart (Piano)
Chonchanok Sophonpanich (Flute) & Aaron Stewart (Piano)

Time & Location

Jul 16, 2023, 4:00 PM – 5:30 PM

Sala Sudasiri Sobha, Soi Lat Phrao 41, Lane 7-2, Khwaeng Chan Kasem, Khet Chatuchak, Krung Thep Maha Nakhon 10900, Thailand

About the event


- J.S. Bach: Sonata in E major for Flute and Piano

- P. Gaubert: Nocturne and Allegro Scherzando for Flute and Piano

- W. Offermans: Homani

- E. Burton: Sonatina for Flute and Piano

- E.Y. Bowen: Sonata for Flute and Piano

- F. Chopin: Ballade No.3 for Solo Piano in A-flat Major

- P. Taffanel: Fantasy on the themes of “Freishütz”

Chonchanok (Suanoi) Sophonpanich (Flute) & Aaron Stewart (Piano)

Suanoi and Aaron met at The Purcell School for Young Musicians in Bushey, England and always hoped for the opportunity to play a recital together. They both go to the Purcell School and have played at prestigious venues such as Wigmore Hall, Cadogan Hall, Queen Elizabeth Hall, and Saint John Smith’s Square. Suanoi won second place in the Siam Ratchada Flute Competition and won the second and audience prize at the British Flute Society Young Performer Category. Aaron also won First Prize in the Wales International Harp Competition and First prize in the North London Harp Society Competition. They are incredibly excited to present many classical pieces to a Thai audience at Sala Sudasiri Sobha as Suanoi had the tremendous of honor of being able to play a recital there last year with Pana Nathan Yontarak.

Two highlights of the recital:

Sonata in E major by J.S. Bach

Sonata by Eldin York Bowen

This sonata was composed by Johann Sebastian Bach for Michael Gabriel Fredersdorf who was Frederick the Great’s secretary. Many composers from the Baroque period wrote pieces for Frederick the Great as he was an amateur Flutist and inspired many others to also play the Flute. All these pieces hold a certain charm and this sonata for his secretary is no different. It is comprised of a calm first movement titled “Adagio Ma non tanto”, a charming “Allegro”, a beautiful and reflective “Siciliano”, and lively and bouncing Allegro Assai. 

York Bowen was a very individualistic romantic English composer who wrote more than 160 pieces. York Bowen’s musical voice is characterized by his use of complex rhythmic and harmonic textures as seen throughout his Flute and Piano Sonata. He wrote many sonata’s for wind instruments and piano including his Flute Sonata, Oboe Sonata, Clarinet Sonata, and Recorder Sonata. He was a Professor at the Royal Academy of Music and dedicated this sonata to Gareth Morris who was a prolific Flutist in England. Nowadays, this sonata is not played very regularly so Suanoi and Aaron are very excited to play it this summer.


  • Chonchanok & Aaron

    From THB 500.00 to THB 1,000.00
    Sale ended
    • THB 1,000.00
    • THB 500.00

    Share this event

    bottom of page